Brace Yourself

CW: Eating disorders, body weight

I’m in a mood. This is a bit of a warning. I wanted to write about how on 13th of March in 2011 I officially moved here to London. Ergo, a 10 year anniversary. However, depression has me firmly in its grip.

Right now, though, I am experiencing irritable angry depression. I am so frustrated at how obesity is treated. Doctors look down their noses at you and tell you to just make meal plans and eat right and exercise.

DESPITE you telling them about why these things are difficult for you. In my instance, I suffer from PCOS. A lovely endocrine disorder. Which makes weight loss extremely difficult. I ALSO explain how I suffer from eating disorders, bulimia. Brought on by a very unhealthy life with figure skating and calls for being underweight when I was young.

But they pay no attention to that. They don’t take that into account. They don’t care. They also don’t seem to be able to empathise.

I know of someone who was recently diagnosed with diabetes. When they weren’t sure if it was type 1 or 2, they treated him as if he had type 2. Because he was indeed overweight, with the oh-so-unhealthy belly fat. He was lectured and treated like a piece of sh*t for being overweight and bringing this on himself.

However. It has now been established that it is type 1 and their attitudes have changed. We’re talking a 180 degree change. Now it’s all “wow, you’re doing so well! Keep at it. You’ve got this.”

My husband, Isaac, was diagnosed with diabetes years ago. He worked hard and lost a lot weight. When he went back to his GP they just said he needed lose more. No “well done.” Just a lecture and being told he needed to lose more. I think it was only maybe 10 more kg or something. But he had lost something like 50 kg.

Anyway. I’m not feeling very good with words right now. I’m just really angry and annoyed with attitudes from the medical field.

Leave a comment